IS IT LEGAL FOR ME TO USE MARIJUANA?
In Maine, qualified patients can legally use cannabis (marijuana) as medicine under a doctor’s supervision. Cannabis remains illegal under federal law.
WHAT ARE THE MEDICAL CONDITIONS THAT MAKE A PERSON ELIGIBLE FOR THE STATE MEDICAL CANNABIS PROGRAM?
Maine residents with at least one of the following debilitating medical conditions may ask their doctor for a recommendation for medical use of cannabis:
– Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
– Hepatitis C
– ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis)
– Crohn’s disease
– Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
– Nail-patella syndrome
– Intractable pain, or a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe nausea, seizures (such as those characteristic of epilepsy) or severe and persistent muscle spasms (such as those characteristic of multiple sclerosis)
– Intractable pain that has not responded to traditional treatments for 6 months or more.
– Inflammatory bowel disease
– Dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders and other diseases causing severe and persistent muscle spasms.
WHAT CAN MEDICAL MARIJUANA DO FOR ME?
Cannabis is a natural alternative to opioid painkillers. It can improve digestive motility, calm muscle spasms, stimulate appetite, lift depression, and more—safely and non-synthetically. Unlike other drugs (even aspirin), there is no lethal dose of cannabis.
HOW DO I GET A CERTIFICATION FOR MEDICAL MARIJUANA?
In Maine, any M.D., D.O. or C.N.P. (as of August 1st, 2014) can recommend cannabis for qualifying patients. Once your doctor has provided a certification, you can designate a dispensary to provide your medicine by completing a simple form at the dispensary site.
WHAT IS THE POSSESSION LIMIT?
A qualifying patient may possess up to two and one half ounces of usable marijuana, cultivate a maximum of six mature plants, and up to 12 female nonflowering plants.
HOW DO I RENEW MY CARD?
Physician certifications expire after one year and patients must re-submit their application form and new certification from a physician through the original process.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I LOSE MY CARD?
Card holders are required to notify the Department of Health and Human Services within 10 days and a new card will be issued. The department can be reached at 1-855-355-4325